top of page

Trinity GESE Preparatory Courses FAQ

What is Trinity?

Trinity College London is an international exam board, recognised in the United Kingdom as an independent awarding body. Trinity offers regulated qualifications in English language, music, and the performing and creative arts throughout the world. Trinity has been conducting exams since 1877 and now over 850,000 people take one of our exams every year.

What is GESE?

Trinity’s Graded Examinations in Spoken English provide a reliable and valid scheme of assessment through which learners and teachers can measure progress and development, whether for educational and vocational purposes or as a leisure activity.

This series of 12 progressively graded exams is designed for speakers of languages other than English and sets realistic objectives in listening to and speaking with English speakers. The 12 grades provide a continuous measure of linguistic competence and take the learner from absolute beginner (Grade 1) to full mastery (Grade 12).

Who can take GESE?

Trinity English language qualifications are suitable for people of all ages learning English as a foreign, second or additional language. Available at all levels, from beginner to advanced, our exams are available to individuals, schools and colleges in more than 60 countries worldwide.

Why take Trinity GESE?

Trinity English language qualifications are recognised internationally as reliable evidence of proficiency in English. With a focus on developing communicative and interactive language skills, our exams assess and promote the skills needed for life in the 21st century.

For more information on the Trinity Exams please visit:

bottom of page